Bicycle and Motorist Etiquette
Under state law, bicycles are considered vehicles.
North Carolina state law states that bicyclists must:
- Ride on the right in the same direction of traffic and as far to the right as is safe and practicable.
- Obey all traffic signs and signals.
- Use hand signals to communicated intended movements, such as turns or stops.
- Use a front lamp and rear reflector at night (or wear reflective clothing visible from 300 feet).
The Black Mountain Code of Ordinances permits bicycles to be ridden on sidewalks, except for in the Central Business District.
NCDOT's "Keys for Motorists"
- Motorists must respect bicyclists' space when they are present in the roadway.
- Motorists must always look for the presence of other roadway users and slow down when:
- traveling near bicycle lanes
- approaching a turn
- at an intersection
- navigating driveways and parking lots
- Motorists are permitted to cross solid yellow lines to pass cyclists, and should slow down while doing so.
North Carolina state law also requires that:
- Bicyclists under 16 years of age must wear a bicycle helmet on public roadways.
- All child passengers under 40 pounds or 40 inches must be seated and secured in a child seat or bicycle trailer.
- Bicyclists being passed by a motor vehicle or another bicyclist should remain as fart to the right as practicable.
- Bicyclists must yield the right-of-way before entering or crossing any main-traveled or through highway if the roadway they are on i posted with a "yield right-of-way" sign.
- Check traffic behind you when changing lanes or merging, just as drivers do.
- Stay out of the blind spot of drivers at intersections and other places where a driver could turn right.
- Wear brighter, reflective clothing to make you more visible during dark or low light conditions.